This browser is not fully supported by Historic England. Please update your browser to the latest version so that you get the best from our website.

The Historic England Commission

As the governing board of the Historic Buildings and Monuments Commission for England, the Commission has direct responsibility for the work of Historic England.

The Commission also has overall responsibility for the National Heritage Collection, which is managed by the English Heritage Trust on its behalf.

It comprises a maximum of 17 individuals, appointed by the Secretary of State for the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, for their skill or professional standing in one or more area of expertise.



Sir Laurie Magnus


Ms Sally Balcombe
Mr Paul Baker
Mr Alex Balfour
Mr Nicholas Boys Smith
Professor Martin Daunton 
Professor Michael Fulford CBE
Mrs Victoria Harley
Ms Rosemarie MacQueen MBE
Mr Neil Mendoza
Mr Michael Morrison
Mr Charles O'Brien

Meeting dates

2017: 26 January; 16 March; 21 June; 20 July; 21 September; 12 December

Related documents

Was this page helpful?