What are the Historic England Angel Awards?

The Historic England Angel Awards were founded by Andrew Lloyd Webber and are co-funded by the Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation. Since 2011, these annual awards have celebrated the efforts of local people (individuals and groups) who have saved or enhanced historic buildings and places.

Historic England Angel Award winners 2017 pictured with hosts Andrew Lloyd Webber and Bettany Hughes, Historic England's Sir Laurie Magnus and Duncan Wilson, and judges Baroness Lola Young and George Clarke.
2017 Angel Award winners with judges and presenters at the awards ceremony © Historic England

The Historic England Angel Awards celebrate the efforts of people who have gone to extraordinary lengths to protect, save and share their local heritage. Awards recognise people who have championed their local heritage, and shared and practiced forgotten craft skills; and young people and apprentices who have made outstanding contributions to heritage projects.

The Historic England Peoples’ Favourite Award is chosen by public vote from short-listed projects.

There are Angel Awards in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland and an Overall Winner.

Nominate a project for the Angel Awards 2018

Award categories

If you have any questions about the awards, please contact us at:
[email protected]

Was this page helpful?


Angel Awards