This browser is not fully supported by Historic England. Please update your browser to the latest version so that you get the best from our website.

Selecting the Winners

Chaired by Andrew Lloyd Webber, the 2017 Angel Awards judging panel comprised historian Bettany Hughes, TV’s 'Restoration Man' George Clarke, the Dean of Westminster - the Very Reverend Dr John Hall, Baroness Lola Young and Historic England’s Chief Executive Duncan Wilson.

See the full list of 2017 award winners

Entries for the 2017 awards were judged against the award criteria.

Three nominees were shortlisted from each of the following four categories:

  • Best Rescue of a Historic Building
  • Best Contribution to a Heritage Project by Young People
  • Best Craftsperson or Apprentice on a Heritage Rescue or Repair Project
  • Best Rescue, Recording or Interpretation of a Historic Place

A public vote determined the winner of the Historic England Followers' and Telegraph Readers' Favourite Award.

The Overall Winner was voted for by a judging panel from the England, Scotland and Northern Ireland Angel Awards and was announced at the London awards ceremony on 20 November 2017.

Was this page helpful?