This information is taken from the statutory List as it was in 2001 and may not be up to date.
ST 46 SE CHURCHILL C.P. LANGFORD ROAD, Lower Langford (north side) 5/87 Lodge, Gatepiers and Walls to south- east of Langford House
Gate Lodge, Gatepiers and Walls. Circa 1860. Squared and coursed rockfaced stone with flush dressed stone quoins, wooden lintels, flush limestone string courses and plain tile roofs. Dressed stone walls and piers, wrought iron gates.
Angular T-shaped plan to lodge in Picturesque chalet style. 1 storey and attic.
Windows are 2-light mullions with plate glass lights. Canted bay to drive, lean- to porch and plank door in angle facing road. Bracketted eaves cornice, hipped and gabled roofs with 1 tall central brick stack. 2 outer piers, 2 metres high, with vermiculated rustication to bases and pyramidal caps. Lower, 0.5 metres high, quadrant walls with close patterned flat section ironwork screens with rose centred roundels and fleur de lys frieze. Similar 2-leaf gates between gatepiers with moulded bases and coved tops with ironwork finials.
Listing NGR: ST4604760652
© Mike Bedingfield. Source: Historic England Archive
This photograph was taken for the Images of England project
People & Organisations
Photographer: Bedingfield, Mike
Rights Holder: Bedingfield, Mike
Brick, Limestone, Stone, Tile, Wrought Iron, Victorian Gate Lodge, Gardens Parks And Urban Spaces, Garden Building, Gate Pier, Unassigned, Wall, Monument <By Form>, Barrier, Gate