This information is taken from the statutory List as it was in 2001 and may not be up to date.
TQ3104SE HIGH STREET 577-1/41/342 (West side) Nos.23-30 (Consecutive)
Council houses. Dated 1910 in a shield on No.29. Built to designs by Charles E Clayton and Ernest Black; the plans dated 16 September, 1909. Brick in stretcher bond, pebble dash, mock half timbering, and stone dressings. Gambrel roofs of tile; porch roofs sheathed in lead. Arts and Crafts style. EXTERIOR: Nos 23-26, and No.29 two storeys with gabled dormers; Nos 27 and 30 two storeys with gabled bay extending into roof. Scattered fenestration. The individual units are designed to form an irregular and picturesque grouping by simple variations on a common type; only No.27 is really unique, forming a central point of emphasis. The other units are assembled from a limited number of features and finishes.
All have a dado of brick, with pebble dash above interrupted by stretches of half timbering which extends into gables. All entrances and ground-floor windows are dressed with stone. Round-arched entrances to Nos 23, 26, 27 and 30; chamfered jambs and voussoirs; projecting keystone. Entrances framed by stone brackets which support a plain flat canopy sheathed in lead. Entrance to No.23A is flat arched with overlight. The entrances to Nos 24 and 25 are entered through a broad, round arch which springs from the brick base, its jambs and voussoirs chamfered with run out stops; foyer glazed. Access to Nos 28 and 29 also through a glazed foyer, but here flat arched. To either side of entrances to Nos 23, 26, 27, and 30 is a triple window with chamfered mullions. To right of entrance of Nos 28-29 is a double window with chamfered mullions. First-floor windows have original wooden casements, each light of 8 panes. Over the entrances of Nos 23, 26, 27, and 30 is a double window with chamfered mullions; all the other windows are triple with chamfered mullions. 2 first-floor windows of No.27 have hood moulding in the profile of a Venetian window, tympanum filled with a stone inset panel; wall above each rises into full dormers with triple, flat-arched windows; gable kneelers, coping; the head ornamented with quatrefoil stone inset. Party walls of Nos 27-30 expressed above roof and terminate in brackets just below eaves. Facade to No.30 is symmetrical; above 2 first-floor triple casements are half-timbered, gabled dormers with barge boards. Between Nos 28 and 29 is a round gable which bears a shield inscribed with the date and the Corporation's arms. The range formed by Nos 23-26 are more informal, with half-timbering to full and half gables as well as to some stretches of the first floor. No.26 has a small dormer with a hipped roof. Downspouts are original. Stacks to party walls. INTERIOR: not inspected. Clayton and Black made 2 proposals for council houses on this site. For the first, the architects proposed to convert a group of early C19 terraced houses. These were demolished in favour of a complete rebuilding. (Carder T: The Encyclopaedia of Brighton: Lewes: 1990-: 167G).
Listing NGR: TQ3164904146
© Norman Wigg. Source: Historic England Archive
This photograph was taken for the Images of England project
People & Organisations
Photographer: Wigg, Norman
Rights Holder: Wigg, Norman