Ecton Mine, The Hillocks
Ecton Mine, The Hillocks, Ecton, Ashbourne, Derbyshire DE6 2AH View on map
The Dressing Floor is part of Ecton Mine, first mined in the Bronze Age, with its peak period from the mid 17th century to the late 18th century, when it was owned by the Chatsworth Estate and was one of the most productive copper mines in the country. The restored wall sits to the rear of the Dressing Floor, where copper ore was processed from the mid 19th century until the mine closed in 1889. The wall supported a roof under which the initial cleaning of the ore took place. The wall has three openings, two of which contain stone lined hoppers, where ore was stored prior to processing. Surface features of the mine nearby include the winding house, powder house, spoil heaps and mine entrances. An educational centre allows access to the underground where visitors can see where the mineral was extracted and taken out to the Dressing Floor.
The Dressing Floor is open to visitors at all times. Guided tours of the mine, including parts of the underground mine, can be arranged for groups and this is noted on the website. The Ecton Hill Field Studies Association and the National Trust also run guided events several times a year.
- Adult: £12.00 (for guided events)
- Child: £8.00 (for guided events)
Parking is on a large layby 150m south of the track that goes up to the Dressing Floor. The road is signposted "Ecton" and runs south from the B5054 at Hulme End in Staffordshire. The Dressing Floor is on the hillside, south of a private building with a prominent copper spire. Rail: Buxton Railway Station (13 miles) Bus: 442 daily to Hulme End (2km)
Parking is on a large layby 150m south of the track, 400m walk uphill to the Dressing Floor.
- Wheelchair access: Partial
- Disabled Toilets: No
- Assistance dogs: Yes