Someries Castle, Hyde
Someries Castle, Hyde, Bedfordshire LU2 9PL View on map
Someries castle's name was derived from William de Someries who had a residence on the site. The site was acquired by Magnate Lord Wenlock in 1430 and work commenced on building the mansion. The house is unique in that it is regarded as one of the first brick buildings in England. Demolished in the 1700s, the fine brickwork can still be seen in the remains of the gatehouse.
At any reasonable time.
Adjacent to Luton Airport, the property is accessed via Copthall Road (a single track road) from Lower Harpenden Road (B653), then via a unmade farm track which is not recommended for motor vehicals. Alternative, unsigned verge parking is available around the commencement of the farm track, at its junction with Copt Hall Road approximately 550m from the property. Rail: Luton (5 miles).
There is limited verge parking available adjacent to entrance, but vehicular access to this point, via unmade farm track, is not recommended. Alternative, unsigned verge parking (at drivers own risk) is available around the commencement of the farm track
- Wheelchair access: Partial
- Disabled Toilets: No
- Assistance dogs: Yes