St Mary's Old Church, Clophill
St Mary's Old Church, Clophill, Bedfordshire MK45 4BP
Ruinous Grade II* listed building and a scheduled ancient monument, first listed in 1961 and formerly called The Old Parish Church, but later re-listed under the name The Church of St. Mary The Virgin. The thickness of the walls and the position of the church indicate that it was originally built in the 11th century. It was probably built c.1350 in the Perpendicular style, the fabric being mostly of coarse ironstone rubble with ashlar dressings. The large perpendicular windows were added into the nave around 1450 in the 15th century.
The church and grounds are open every day, during daylight hours (the church is alarmed at night). Visitors can walk into and around the site freely with no booking required. We offer tours of the restored church tour by appointment or on open days and events. There are information boards on the site to tell visitors how to arrange a tower tour (phone number), and when volunteers will have the tower open - for example during cafes or events
- Other Charges: We do not charge admission to the church and grounds but for tower tours we suggest a donation amount
Parking is free. One car can park directly outside the church access barrier (for accessible parking). The eco lodge can park is just across the track and down a slope. The eco lodges have a disabled parking space - call to arrange use of.