Craswall Priory, Craswall, Herefordshire
These are the remains of St Mary's Priory. It was founded in c1225 by Walter de Lacy. The priory belonged to the French Order of Grandmont and is unique in retaining its Grandmont ground plan in spite of centuries of natural decay. Because its Mother House, or ruling church, was in France it is referred to as an Alien Priory. During the Hundred Years War with France in 1341 Edward III appointed a crown custodian to watch over the monks and to make sure they were not spying for the enemy. During the reign of Henry VII it survived the general suppression of alien monasteries and continued until 1462. In 1441 it had been given to God's House, Cambridge which was afterwards united to Christ's College.