This browser is not fully supported by Historic England. Please update your browser to the latest version so that you get the best from our website.

Historic England Angel Awards

The Historic England Angel Awards celebrate the efforts of people taking action to champion their local heritage. The awards were founded by Andrew Lloyd Webber and are co-funded by the Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation.

Nominate a group or individual for the Historic England Angel Awards 2018

Do you know people who protect, save and share their local heritage?

Applications are open from Wednesday 18 April and the closing date has been extended to Sunday 10 June 2018. Please make sure you review the award criteria and terms and conditions for the Angel Awards when nominating a group or individual.

Nominate someone for the Angel Awards 2018

Angel Awards Winners 2017

Congratulations to the 2017 Historic England Angel Awards winners who were presented with their awards at a glittering ceremony at the Palace Theatre, London, on 20 November 2017.

  • One of the Tecton Buildings at Dudley Zoo, the Black Country, West Midlands

    Rescue of a Historic Building

    This award recognises volunteers and professionals, individuals and groups who have rescued a historic building.

  • Exterior view of looking up at red brick industrial building with a wooden turret on top.

    Historic Building Regeneration

    This award will recognise projects that have seen large scale investment put into saving, rescuing or regenerating a building or place.

  • Young woman excavating at Ashby-de-la-Zouche Castle

    Young People

    This award recognises contributions made to heritage projects by young people up to the age of 25.

  • Archaeological dig

    Craftsperson or Apprentice

    This award recognises a craftsperson or apprentice who has demonstrated craft skills that have been key in repairing or rescuing a historic site.

  • Park in The Wirral, Merseyside

    Research and Interpretation

    This award recognises those who have helped people understand and enjoy a heritage based project.

  • Clevedon Pier, Clevedon, Somerset

    What are the Angel Awards?

    These annual awards celebrate the efforts of people who champion heritage.

  • Historic England Angel Award winners 2017 pictured with hosts Andrew Lloyd Webber and Bettany Hughes, Historic England's Sir Laurie Magnus and Duncan Wilson, and judges Baroness Lola Young and George Clarke.

    Award Winners 2011-2017

    Find details of past winners of the Historic England Angel Awards.

  • Award Sponsors & Supporters

    We are delighted to be working with the Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation and all our sponsors of the Historic England Angel Awards.

Related News