Details
NY 45 NE
6/175 WETHERAL
WARWICK BRIDGE
HIGH BUILDINGS (West end, off)
The Mill G.V.
II
Factory units, formerly woollen mill, built as cotton mill. 1790 and 1793 with
extensions 1814 and 1890 for John Ferguson, Peter Dixon and William Waddell,
respectively (dates and initials on combined stones, high up on the wall of the
spinning mill). Squared red sandstone rubble walls, slate roof and slated
wooden bellcote. 3 storeys, plus attic and 9 bays to original mill (1790 and
1793) and spinning mill (1814) of 4 storeys, plus attic and 11 bays:
straightforward factory building of the Industrial Revolution, originally water
powered. Plain surrounds to windows with C19 cast iron frames and glazing bars:
C20 loading bays cut through 2 windows in spinning mill and end bay covered by 4
storey projecting lift shaft. Arch under spinning mill gives water access to
original wheel position. Converted to steam in 1832. Walls secured by plates
and ties. Bell still in bellcote, surmounted by weather-vane with initial F
(Ferguson) and 1791 cut through. Internal cast-iron columns between floors.
Although completed in 1791, Langthwaite Mill was gutted by fire on 8 August 1793
and had to be rebuilt: ceased production in 1883 and reopened as a woollen
mill, re-named Otterburn Mill in 1888: continued as such until the late 1970's,
when it was sold to be split into separate units. At its height of production,
the mill employed nearly 300 people. For full details see, D.J.W. Mawson,
Langthwaite Cotton Mill, Transactions of the Cumberland & Westmorland,
Antiquarian & Archaeological Society, vol. lxxvi, N.S., p.159-183. Listing does
not include the other factory buildings nearby, except for High Buildings,
originally workers cottages and included for G.V.
Listing NGR: NY4781556661
Legacy
The contents of this record have been generated from a legacy data system.
Legacy System number:
77695
Legacy System:
LBS
Sources
Books and journals 'Transactions Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian and Archaeological Society' in Transactions Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian and Archaeological Society, , Vol. 76, (), 156-183
Legal
This building is listed under the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990 as amended for its special architectural or historic interest.
End of official list entry
Print the official list entry