This browser is not fully supported by Historic England. Please update your browser to the latest version so that you get the best from our website.


List Entry Summary

This building is listed under the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990 as amended for its special architectural or historic interest.


List entry Number: 1190187



The building may lie within the boundary of more than one authority.

County: Greater London Authority

District: Kensington and Chelsea

District Type: London Borough


National Park: Not applicable to this List entry.

Grade: I

Date first listed: 15-Apr-1969

Date of most recent amendment: Not applicable to this List entry.

Legacy System Information

The contents of this record have been generated from a legacy data system.

Legacy System: LBS

UID: 203740

Asset Groupings

This list entry does not comprise part of an Asset Grouping. Asset Groupings are not part of the official record but are added later for information.

List entry Description

Summary of Building

Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.

Reasons for Designation

Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.


Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.


TQ 2679 SE TQ 2779 SW CROMWELL ROAD SW7 39/5 40/5 Victoria and Albert 15.4.69 Museum


Museum. 1860 by Sir Henry Cole and Captain Fowke. Unique facades of the quadrangle form the heart of the Museum. Terra-cotta decorations by Godfrey Sykes and mosaics by Townroe. West side 1861-63. North side 1864-68. On ground floor are the old Refreshment Rooms built by 1867, consisting of the central Refreshment Room decorated by Sykes and Gamble, the Green Dining Room decorated by William Morris, and the Grill Room designed in 1869 by D J Poynter and completed in 1874. Also the staircase leading up to first floor, designed by F W Moody with a mosaic portrait of Henry Cole 1868-76. On first floor the old Ceramic Gallery completed about 1868 with elaborate decoration including ceramic-faced columns by Minton. (Dismantled 1914). East side completed by late 1890's and connected up with south side which is the library side and built in 1884. The south courts of iron construction were built in 1862. They are now boxed in to make the present museum restaurant and tapestry court. The decoration of these courts was completed by 1874. The lunettes at either end of the eastern court were decorated by Lord Leighton in 1880 and 1886. The main entrance hall and staircase designed by Aston Webb in 1891 and built 1899-1901. Queen Victoria laid the foundation stone, the last major ceremony she performed, and the south front was completed in 1909. Colonnade connecting with Royal College of Science (now Henry Cole wing). Much of the Museum's interior has recently been restored. John Physick: The Victoria and Albert Museum.

Listing NGR: TQ2698579096

Selected Sources

Books and journals
Physick, J, The Victoria and Albert Museum

National Grid Reference: TQ 26985 79096


© Crown Copyright and database right 2017. All rights reserved. Ordnance Survey Licence number 100024900.
© British Crown and SeaZone Solutions Limited 2017. All rights reserved. Licence number 102006.006.
Use of this data is subject to Terms and Conditions.

The above map is for quick reference purposes only and may not be to scale. For a copy of the full scale map, please see the attached PDF - 1190187 .pdf

The PDF will be generated from our live systems and may take a few minutes to download depending on how busy our servers are. We apologise for this delay.

This copy shows the entry on 20-Oct-2017 at 01:11:52.

End of official listing