Heritage Category: Listed Building

Grade: II*

List Entry Number: 1307967

Date first listed: 19-Oct-1951



Ordnance survey map of THE BRICK HOUSE
© Crown Copyright and database right 2019. All rights reserved. Ordnance Survey Licence number 100024900.
© British Crown and SeaZone Solutions Limited 2019. All rights reserved. Licence number 102006.006.
Use of this data is subject to Terms and Conditions.

The above map is for quick reference purposes only and may not be to scale. For a copy of the full scale map, please see the attached PDF - 1307967 .pdf

The PDF will be generated from our live systems and may take a few minutes to download depending on how busy our servers are. We apologise for this delay.

This copy shows the entry on 22-Jan-2019 at 12:13:45.



The building or site itself may lie within the boundary of more than one authority.

County: Hertfordshire

District: East Hertfordshire (District Authority)

Parish: Hormead

National Grid Reference: TL 41258 31050


Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.

Reasons for Designation

Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.


Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.


TL 43 SW HORMEAD BRICK HOUSE LANE (North side) Great Hormead

2/57 The Brick House 19.10.51

- II*

House. Circa 1570 for Thomas Brand of Lambeth, Yeoman (RCHM Typescript) restoration 1954-8, small extensions to N and E in 1980's. Small red brick in English bond with old red tile roofs. A tall 2 storeys and attics brick tower-house unique in Hertfordshire. Rectangular main block has 2 small square towers attached at opposite corners, 2 massive chimneys projecting from the W wall, and a tall stair tower projecting further between them. The plan has the square hall occupying 2/3 of the Ground Floor entered from the E, separated by a timber framed wall from the kitchen and a cross passage at the N end. A larder or store occupies the NE tower off the former cross passage to an outside door on N wall, there is a large oven projecting from the kitchen fireplace, and the stair is entered from the NW corner of the hall beside its wide fireplace. A small parlour with wall recesses occupies the SW tower off the hall. The main entrance was moved to the S face of the NE tower in 1950's. The main chambers on 1st floor have small rooms off in the towers and there were 4 attic rooms. The projecting gables have crowstepped parapets and 3 casement windows one to each floor. Windows have square heads, chamfered surrounds with labels over and heavy 2-light mullioned timber frames. Small chamfered openings about 8 x 3 inches with labels light upper floors and staircase tower. Tumbled brickwork offsets to chimney on W. Exposed timbers in house, and clasped purlin roofs with windbraces. House unique in county in combining rooms appropriate to a prosperous yeoman with brick walling unknown at vernacular level and tower house plan. (RCHM (1911)103 no.4: VCH(1914)69-70: Pevsner (1977)152-3: RCHM Typescript).

Listing NGR: TL4125831050


The contents of this record have been generated from a legacy data system.

Legacy System number: 160278

Legacy System: LBS


Books and journals
Doubleday, AH, The Victoria History of the County of Hertford, (1914), 69-70
Pevsner, N, Cherry, B, The Buildings of England: Hertfordshire, (1977), 152-3
Inventory of the Historical Monuments of Hertfordshire, (1910)

End of official listing