The Town Hall, Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings Town Hall was built in 1880. It was made in an Early English style, making clever use of an awkward triangular site. On the east front are a series of interesting carved stone panels depicting "Hastings Fishermen boarding French Pirates", "Landing of the French and their Defeat", "Queen Elizabeth Granting the Charter to the Corporation" and "Cinque Port Ships Going to meet the Armada". The hall stands in the heart of the coastal town and has been described as having 'a unique splendour'.